About Ufa

Ufa, the capital of the Republic of Bashkortostan, is among the largest economic, cultural and schientific centres of Russia. In 2015, Ufa hosted the summits of BRICS and the Shanghai Cooperation Organization.

The city is located in the valley of Belaya river (Agidel, a tributary of Kama river), where it meets Ufa and Dyoma rivers, 100 km from the Southern Urals ranges, 1519 km to the east of Moscow.

Oil-refining industry plays a key role in the economy of the region as Ufa is the largest oil-refining centre in Russia. Also, Ufa boasts developed chemical, petrochemical, mechanical engineering and metal-working industries. The leading enterprises of the city are  Bashneft, Bashneftehim, Elektroapparat and Mettalist companies, as well as mechanical engineering, cable manufacturing, electric bulb, mining machinery plants, a vitamin product factory and food industry enterprises.

Ufa is an interesting place thanks to its numerous historic and archeological monuments. On the south-western outskirts of the city there is an ancient burial mound and a settlement, while on the right bank of Dyoma river there is a site of an ancient town called “the Hanging Stone”. Until the mid 16th century, the site of the so-called “Old Ufa” was taken by the Nogai ancient hillfort Turatau (known in the Russian sources as “the Devil’s Settlement”). In 1574 here at the confluence of Belaya and Ufa rivers the Russian fortress Ufa was founded which got a status of a town in 1586. In the 17th century Ufa was developing as a trading centre on the roads from the Central Russia to Siberia. In 1728-1744 Ufa was the centre of the province whose voivode reported directly to the Senate, later to become part of Orenburg region. In 1773-1774 Ufa withstood a four-month seige by Pugachev’s rebels under the command of Chika (I.N. Zarubin). Since 1865 Ufa has been the center of Ufa Governate.

Ufa is the birthplace of the Russian writer S.T. Aksakov, whose monument was made by the sculptor T.P. Nechaev and installed in 1959. Aksakov community hall erected in 1908-1920 upon the project of the architect P.P. Rusakovskiy now houses M. Gafuri Theatre of Opera and Ballet.

The Bashkir national hero Salavat Yulaev’s life has been closely connected with Ufa; in 1967 his monument sculptured by S.D. Tavasiev was installed in the city. Ufa is also the home city of the famous violin player and conductor V.T. Spivakov, as well as of the writer S. Dovlatov. Ufa boasts a number of museums, the most prominent of which being the Bashkir Museum of Local Lore, History and Economy founded as early as in 1864. Another noteworthy place of interest is the M.V. Nesterov Museum of Fine Arts created in 1919 and based on the artist’s collections.

Об Уфе

Уфа — столица Республики Башкортостан. Входит в число крупнейших экономических, культурных и научных центров России. В 2015 году в Уфе проходил саммит Шанхайской организации сотрудничества и БРИКС.

Город располагается в долине реки Белой (Агидель, приток реки Кама), при впадении в неё рек Уфа и Дема, в 100 км к западу от хребтов Южного Урала, в 1519 км к востоку от Москвы.

Ведущую роль в городской экономике играет нефтеперерабатывающая промышленность, Уфа является самым крупным в России центром нефтепереработки. Здесь развиты химическая и нефтехимическая отрасли, машиностроение и металлообработка. Важнейшие предприятия города: объединения «Башнефть», «Башнефтехим», «Электроаппарат», «Металлист», машиностроительный, кабельный, электроламповый заводы, завод горного оборудования, завод витаминных препаратов, предприятия пищевой промышленности.

Уфа интересна многими историческими и археологическими памятниками. На юго-западной окраине города расположены древний курган и селище, на правом берегу реки Дема находится городище, известное под названием «Висячий камень». До середины XVI в. на месте так называемой Старой Уфы существовало древнее ногайское укрепленное поселение Туратау (известное в русских источниках как Чертово городище). В 1574 г. здесь, при слиянии рек Белая и Уфа, была основана русская крепость Уфа, которая уже в 1586 г. получила статус города. В XVII в. Уфа развивается как торговый центр на путях из Центральной России в Сибирь. В 1728-1744 годах Уфа — центр провинции, воевода которой подчинялся непосредственно Сенату, затем город вошел в состав Оренбургской губернии. В 1773-1774 годах Уфа выдержала четырехмесячную осаду пугачевцев под командованием Чики (И. Н. Зарубина). С 1865 г. Уфа — центр Уфимской губернии

В Уфе родился писатель С. Т. Аксаков, которому в 1959 г. был установлен памятник работы скульптора Т. П. Нечаева. Народный дом С. Т. Аксакова, возведенный в 1908-1920 годах по проекту архитектора П. П. Рудаковского, ныне занят Театром оперы и балета им. М. Гафури.

С Уфой тесно связана жизнь национального героя Башкирии Салавата Юлаева, памятник которому работы скульптора С. Д. Тавасиева установлен в 1967 г. Уфа — родина скрипача и дирижера В. Т. Спивакова, писателя С. Д. Довлатова. В Уфе действуют несколько музеев, среди которых выделяется основанный еще в 1864 году Башкирский краеведческий музей. Заслуживает внимания Художественный музей имени М. В. Нестерова, созданный в 1919 г. на основе коллекции художника.

 

 

 

Для вашего удобства мы подготовили карту г. Уфа, на которой отмечены все основные объекты, связанные с проведением форума.